This year saw the continuation of the Italian television series, Campanile Sera, that had commenced in November 1959. The Thursday night games continued all the way up until August 1960, when there was a six week break in the transmission of the series to allow for the Olympic Games being held in Rome. Senigallia, the team that won the final programme of the first run, were back as reigning champions at the start of the second, from 22nd September 1960. They were however instantly defeated.

The 'winner stays on' formula adopted for the series was proving to be something of a double-edged sword. It meant that teams were built up as tough to beat, giving the competitions a 'David and Goliath' appeal that audiences loved. Unfortunately, it also meant that the winning teams were, through the experience of competing in the events, becoming better versed and more competent at the games and new teams found it harder and harder to topple the 'current champions'.

This was clearly demonstrated as the series broke into its stride and moved into 1960. The team from Castelfranco Veneto, a town in the northern Italian province of Treviso, had been victorious in the last two programmes of 1959 and went on to remain undefeated throughout the first month of the new year. It was only after seven straight wins that they were finally toppled as champions by a team from Albenga. Later in this series, this achievement was equalled and then beaten by Monreale, who won for eight weeks in a row (although one win was disputed) - the longest winning sequence in the history of Campanile Sera.

On the presentation side, Enza Sampò assumed the role of second in-town presenter that had been vacated at the end of the first run by Renato Tagliani. Main presenter Mike Bongiorno and the other in-town presenter, Enzo Tortora, remained with the series.

JSFnetGB Series Guide pages researched by
Neil Storer and Alan Hayes
with Ischa Bijl, Julien Dessy, Sébastien Dias, David Hamilton, Denis Kirsanov, Paul Leaver, Philippe Minet,
Christos Moustakas, David Laich Ruiz, Marko Voštan and JSFnet Websites